GoPro etc. Discussion thread

I recently got an action camera. An Activeon CX Gold Plus. I know GoPros are better, but this was way cheaper, and will give me a chance to see how much we use it, and if it will be worth investing in a more expensive camera later.

Since I’m a total noob, if you’ve got experience with GoPros or other action cameras, what advice do you have? Any tips and tricks?

So far, I’ve enjoyed trying out the camera. Some things I’ve learned:

1. I need a chest mount. My helmet bounces around my head a bit, causing the camera to record knocking sounds. Also, I keep running the camera into low branches. A youtuber suggested mounting the camera lower also gives a better impression of speed.

2. I need to figure out how to best preserve battery life. I ran wifi all night on the camera tonight, so I could control the camera with my phone, which was very convenient. However, I was only able to record 18 minutes of video before the battery was dead. I suspect wifi is a battery killer.

3. I need to learn what settings work best. I think I will find a loop that I can run through several times with a different setting each time (e.g. 1080P/60fps, 1080P/30fps, 720P/120fps, 720P/60fps, Digital Image Stabilization ON/Off). I think the Schnitzel Loop at Fight would be just the right length, Osprey might work well too, but it would be more climbing.

2 Likes

A few confirmation/comments: