Bike saddle

Does anyone know if any bike shops do fit tests for saddles. I’ve been cycling almost 2 weeks now, but my ass still gets real sore.

Yes, they can.

I can only speak of the Specialized fitting system at this point. There is a simple device that you sit on and your sit bone width is taken. Then you can choose from the various saddles that are on the market the proper width and design that suits your needs.

Saddles

You will need to scroll down a bit to get the information. I know the valley is a bit of a drive, but(t) I’m sure that there is a shop in the city if you didn’t want to make the trip. If you make it down this way, I’d be happy to show you the local trails.

You’re sitting too much!

Seriously though, this is an age old problem, hell I’ve been biking for more than 2 decades and my butt still hurts, usually around the 100km mark now.

Lots of factors to consider, of course there is the saddle itself, and it’s an individual preference, but bike fit, saddle angle, height, fore/aft position and muscle condition all play factors in comfort level.
So does riding technique, try not to sit on your saddle like it’s an armchair, the saddle shouldn’t take all of your weight especially on a hardtail that is going to transmit all those bumps right to your butt and your back, I prefer to kind of float on the saddle by always having a bit of my weight on my legs taking the pressure off, it’s easy to do if you’re pedaling with any cadence, this also allows you to shift around positions and avoid pressure spots if you feel them before they develop into lasting pain.
Just don’t make the mistake that a giant wide cushy saddle is gong to be more comfortable or the classic “man saddle” pointing the nose down at a extreme angle because your junk hurts. I actually find pointing my saddle slightly up works better for me.

1 Like