Complaining about Trail Work

Great article from NSMB.

I specifically love the TAP program idea, and personally see it being beneficial here within our riding culture.

5 Likes

I like this part.

Ā« The general thrust is that if you donā€™t dig you have no right to be a trail critic. Ā»

3 Likes

I do agree with that in a sense, however as a trail builder I would gladly take a recommendation from rider who has travelled the globe and seen how things are done with various terrain/tools and styles.

There are place in Canada with very engrained No Dig No Ride culture embedded into the riders, and from my perspective they have more trails.

I also donā€™t really think thats the correct way ahead in our scene, just an observation.

5 Likes

Speaks true in my case, last year I took some heat from said none diggers.

I never said, I donā€™t consult with people. Iā€™m very open to ideas. I usually have someone whisper things to me and I usually go out and try to make it work.

Iā€™m not always going rogue. Lol

6 Likes

I welcomed suggestions and line ideas from my peer group. The feedback was useful. Only thing I didnā€™t like were whiners bitching about how root sections should be cleaned up to make it smoother. I didnā€™t consider trailmaking work and enjoyed the solitude.

Seeing people riding wet trails bugged me, though.

10 Likes

20 years ago this would probably work because no internet. Nowadays, anything goes. Either donā€™t go online or get a thicker skin.

2 Likes

Eeeek to the passive aggressive notes left on the trail with instructions!

3 Likes

Seriously? WTF.

I think this is about as bad as it got from me

https://sites.google.com/site/longlakeprovincialpark/Home/trail-sign

3 Likes

I think itā€™s pretty difficult to know who does and doesnā€™t do trail work if they donā€™t advertise it.

6 Likes

Youā€™re right. Thereā€™s a lot that I donā€™t post. As well as others.