Enduro fork advice

I think I’m going to part ways with the Fox 34 CTD that came stock on my enduro. Would like something as or maybe a bit more beefy with better mid stoke support. The fox dives to much. Suggestions? I’m considering the X Fusion Slant. Online chatter sounds promising and I like the Velvet I have now.

Looking for 160 maybe 170mm travel, 15 or 20 mm axle. Would prefer a proper compression adjust over a low speed blow off for pedalling.

Thoughts?

Rather than replace the fork you might want to check this out:

http://bb.nsmb.com/showthread.php?t=155214

It appears you can update the internals on the 2013 CTD forks to the 2014 spec and improve the mid-stroke of the fork.

Can you tell us dorks more about what mid stroke means and why its good?

My understanding (and I’m no expert!) is that the upgraded internals firm up the middle section of the travel (versus the extremes of the first little bit and the last bit) so less brake dive when you apply the brakes. Apparently makes the whole Climb/Trail/Descend system work better.

From what I can gather from user comments the 2013 CTD system is not very well liked and Fox was motivated to improve it.

Check this out:

http://www.pinkbike.com/news/FOX-34-TALAS-FLOAT-X-FIRST-IMPRESSIONS.html

First part of the article talks about the difference between the 2013 and 2014 (and 2012) forks.

[quote=“gtrguy”]Rather than replace the fork you might want to check this out:

http://bb.nsmb.com/showthread.php?t=155214

It appears you can update the internals on the 2013 CTD forks to the 2014 spec and improve the mid-stroke of the fork.[/quote]

No dice. Looked in to that already. Mine is the lower end O/E fork that has a non upgradable cartridge. I however could drop a new dampener in the Fox. I’m looking in to that option as well depending on price I may go that way.

check out the rockshox revelation rct3 i got one on my 29, never was a fan of the rs field but quite impressed with this one.

X2