How Long Has Everyone been Riding?

So lets see who has been doing this the longest

I started riding in 2000 after my Brother was killed in a tragic biking accident. I inherited a bike he built on an old Ritchey frame and stumbled across the trails in Burnside one day, when I was riding to feel closer to him. I was HOOKED INSTANTLY!!! Before that it easily had to be 20 years since the last time I was on a bike.

So this will be my 14th year. I suspect there are many others out there who have been riding a lot longer than me.

Yikes that’s terrible, glad you mades something positive out of it.

I’ve been riding bikes as long as I can remember, but my parents bought me my first mountain bike in…1987 I think but maybe 1988. I had a couple of friends with mountain bikes. The first year we rode a lot in Shubie and the power lines behind what is now Dartmouth Crossing. I think we found trails at Spider lake in 1989-90 and at Shearwater around the same time. I got into racing mountain bikes in 1991 i think.

So I guess that’s 27 years.

24 years. Good times…

Rode a lot around 97 to 98, took serious hiatus till about 2006 ish and have been hooked since.

Bought my first mountain bike around 1984. Didn’t ride much between 1989 when I started University and 2011 other than with my kids. Rode with a friend a few times in the summer of 2012 and got interested again. Bought a proper bike last spring and probably rode more in 2013 than in the previous 20 years combined.

My first bike was a high wheeler in 1871. It was part of my luggage when I took my hot air balloon around the world.

Okay, that’s a lie. I’ve been biking a long time. I remember some great adventures throughout junior high and high school, and I commuted for a few years in university. So I’d have to say it’s been a solid 25 plus years I’ve been riding, not including as a kid. To prove I’ve always been akin to the idea, here’s a pic: