Ice Wax chain lube, lubes and chains in general

I too rarely replace drivetrains anymore, granted, I’m not riding a ton anymore, a wife, 2 kids a dog and a house does that sometimes.

but… The drivetrain on my main bike is 10+ years old, I’ve changed cranksets a couple times in that span, so the chainrings have changed, and it has been on at least 3 different bikes but the chain and casette are the same ones I’ve been using since 2001. It was good quality stuff, XTR casette, and a SRAM chain, one of the higher end shiny silver ones.

After seeing my managers bikes, which basically live at Fight Trail full time, and seeing how immaculate the drive train looks and works, I’ve finally succumbed to believing his rants about the stuff. Nothing sticks to it, it wears great, shifts nice, and is really quiet. He seriously runs a toothbrush over it briefly, and any crud that was even there, which is not much, falls right off. Mind you, he stays on top of it, but it looks life it really makes life grand. I’ve heard others go on and preach about the stuff as well, so I figured I’d try it on the next new drivetrain. Which both of my MTB’s have, currently. But I haven’t yet…

Enter my new Giant Escape 1. I’ve commuted for a grand total of 2 weeks, and have already worn the chain out to .75% on my Park Tool gauge. I usually toss it at .75 - 1.0%, and if I miss it, usually end up burning up the whole drivetrain and just starting from scratch again. So, I figure I have nothing left to loose. See how it works before I replace the chain in the near future. I have a bit of a small bottle of the stuff left, so I gave 'er stink.

First impressions are that it actually cleans the chain well. I wiped it really well with a rag soaked in WD-40 first, but this stuff actually polished it right up! It felt VERY slippery on the rag, so we’ll see how it feels when actually riding.