New to MTB

Hi everyone, just wanted to introduce myself. I’m new to the MTB community, just bought a used bike and have been gearing it up the past month. It’s an 2015 Opus Vox 2.0 1x setup XC bike, just doing maintenance mostly. I used to ride bikes lots when I was younger but after moving to the city for years I got out of it. I bought a house in St Margaret’s Bay which is where I grew up (we used to ride on the rails to trails when the trains were still running) and have been wanting to get back into it. I stumbled upon this forum during my research and am glad to see there is a healthy MTB community out here. Been reading the posts and doing some homework this past week. I’m pretty much a beginner at this point, looking for some advice for MTB trails out there to cut my teeth on to build some skill. I know there is not much out my way except the rails to trails as far as MTB trails go but I’m open to traveling a bit to good ones. I hear there is one in the Bowater Mersey, where exactly is it? I know it is an intermediate trail but it would be good to know for when I get comfortable. What were your favorite beginner trails when you started out? Any Tips or advice for a newbie would be appreciated. Thanks.

2 Likes

Welcome @rhyno857!

It’s always contentious when we post trails that are not official, but built on someone else’s land… the trail builders sometimes like to keep their gem secret…

I think enough people know about Bowater by now though.
(Please don’t ride trails when they’re wet, it will piss off people for sure.)

Here’s a strava activity of last time we were out to Bowater:

Note, it is not on trailforks for some reason either.

Good beginner trails are:

• Norrawarren in Spryfield by the lumber mart.
  • Irishmans Rd in Windsor
  • 9 Mile River
  • Some of Whopper, (Da Minion to power lines).
2 Likes