Noob MTB rider

I am new to MTBing. As green as you can be. I have been racing road bikes since 2016. Now an aspiring triathlete and now an addicted MTBer.

I have been trying to get my son on his bike and now he is nuts for biking. We got him a smaller fat bike used a few years ago, it’s borderline too small but can get another year out of it and I can’t ride trails with my road racer so I was on the hunt on Kijiji for a trail-worthy bike. I came across an ad for a Norco Wolverine Hardtail. I am not sure what year it is the seller didn’t know but the frame was in amazing condition. Shifting was a bit hard and tight so I knew right off the bat the cables needed replacing. I tested the chain with my chain tester and it was maybe 10% worn and the rear cassette was brand new! I know parts are hard to come by if not impossible.

I took it to Giant Halifax as I am on the store’s race team for both Road racing and triathlon and they got me fixed up. Replaced the pedals with some good flats as taking the old pedals to the shin was not fun! and I replaced the Seatpost since having the saddle at a 45d incline was not fun on the nether regions lol. I also replaced the disc on the back since it was a bit warped.

in 2015 by doctor told me I need to lose weight or I won’t see my son graduate high school. The next day changed my life forever. I have lost, and I gained some back. You know, beer is so tasty! I ran into health issues just before my birthday last March. I ended up being hospitalized for over a week with acute pancreatitis from gallstones. The surgeon took the ole gallbladder and fixed a hernia at the same time. My family is now telling me I am too skinny and don’t need to lose more but I need to lose 10 more so I am happy :slight_smile:

I am an older rider just getting into mountain biking, at 49 I am just getting into mountain biking and I have to say I am addicted.