Snowshoes

I’m still rocking old wooden and hide Beavertails made by the Chesnut Canoe Company. I love them. I use rubber bindings. They work a dandy, and are sweet for glissading. Old school at it’s best. HOWEVER… I got the girlfriend a pair of fairly pricy GV shoes with pivots, heel lifts, nice crampons, awesome bindings and no snow flinging. They seem pretty cool…

I’d like to get a pair of snowshoes this winter but I’m not sure what I should be looking for. Are there any brands that are better? Where’s the best place to buy them? Help out a complete noob!

I asked the same thing and was recommended to buy Atlas or MSR

I purchased mine from The trail shop… the staff memeber was helpful they had snowshoes for my wieght in stock

You can always check out MEC aswell I just find in Halifax the stock is not always the best

Tubbs is the No. 1 brand, followed closely by Atlas. I’m not as familiar with MSR.

One key factor you consider should be the ease of binding use with gloves or mitts on. I’m looking into getting a new set of shoes this year - my old ones work fine but the bindings are a nightmare to get tight enough, especially when the straps ice up. Ackk!

Yea, I’ve seen some ridiculous binding systems.

I’ve got Atlas 930. I picked them up at MEC last year. I really like them. They’re easy to get on and off. They fit perfectly with my hiking boots too. The only thing is they kick up a trail behind you, so make sure you wear snowpants, or else you’ll get wet in the caboose!

MSRs are good too, but I don’t find those as easy as the Atlas. But, that’s just a personal preference…

The high end sport shops shoes have high end snowshoes and cost a lot.
I would buy something like that if I was seriously going snowshoeing.
I use mine for packing the trails for riding purposes, so a $120 pair is good for me.

The big sports store in Bayers Rd mall has had a great selection of affordable shoes.