Carbon vs aluminum

Okay, I’m getting a new ride at an insane deal and I want opinions about the durability of carbon frames. Brand is Knolly and I’m trying to decide between an aluminum or carbon Warden. I have to say carbon kinda makes me nervous but I’d like to hear from you guys. Go!

2 Likes

Carbon and granite don’t like each other. We have a lot of rock on the hrm trails . With alum you get a dent with carbon a crack.

I’ve been hammering a Carbon bike for 3 years, same frame. Also, I have been riding cheap Chinese carbon rims for longer, they were on my aluminum hardtail for a year before I switched to a FS carbon frame.
My carbon bike has 5k on it, the rims have more. I ride it everywhere.
I believe modern carbon bikes are stronger and tougher than alum in everyway now, they have the layups figured out. Can you break one, probably, is it likely, I doubt it.

6 Likes

Tough call but nice position to be in!

I’m definitely not saying go carbon, just I don’t think you should choose based on something like durability, base it on price. You can get a LOT of bike if you stick with alum, and you only really save 1-2 pounds on the frame.
However, if you are total weight weenie, or like how a carbon bike rides (its stiffer), and have the $$, don’t be scared to rip a carbon bike down Gord’s at Fight Trail.

1 Like

Agreed, terrible predicament to be in😛
I think you’ll have a blast on whichever flavour!

@darkmyth @Drgonzo @gtrguy @pmachan thanks guys. I know, terrible dilemma to have. Cost is a bit of an issue, will probably end up paying about $600-1000 mire for my build if I go carbon. I’m not a big weight weenie but when you’re 120 lbs with gear on it is nice when having to put the bike away or carry it over blow downs like we did last week end. If I go carbon it will be more of a frame size availability issue. I tend to personally lean towards steel then aluminum, titanium and carbon my last resort.
Thanks guys, appreciate your time.