Buying Advice - Anyone riding a Kona Big Honzo, Rocky Mountain Growler or Specialized Fuse?

My bike finally bit it, and it’s time for a new ride.

I’m looking at the Big Honzo, Growler, Fuse or maybe the Devinci Kobain. They’re all similar price and spec, just wondering if anyone is riding any of these bikes who might like to share their opinions on how they feel on the trail.

I’ve been reading tons of reviews, but they vary widely and I figure nothing is better than the opinion of someone riding the same trails as you.

I’ve ridden the Fuse and Big Honzo. I ended up buying a Torrent because it was a little slacker and had more fork travel.

I’ve been drooling over the Torrent for a few years now, I love the spec on it. Unfortunately it’s just out of my price point.
Maybe I’ll get lucky and they’ll lower the price of the 2021 model… and a local shop will have one in stock.
Wishful thinking.

I tried a honzo and my heels were super close the the chainstays

I bought a used Torrent frame and Fox 34 then built it with the parts I wanted. It cost me less than a new Torrent and it has a far better drivetrain and wheels.

3 Likes

Thanks for the input, that is one of the reasons I started this, since I can’t actually ride anything now. Last I checked Cyclemsith only had a small. I’m cooling on the Big Honzo as an option anyway. The 2021 model is on the Kona website, they lowered the price and the specs just aren’t as good as the 2020 was.

I’ve considered buying a frame and building it up. I wanted to buy a complete bike to get me back on the trail quickly, but from what I hear from retailers it could be Christmas before anyone has any floor models to test. So maybe a build-a-bike might be the way to go after all.

For Hardtails I tried the Honzo, Big Honzo and ended up with a Trek Roscoe, only thing I don’t love about it is the boost 141 rear spacing but that seems less an issue now as a lot of the higher end hubs are convertible.