Close call

I’m a novice biker with the fortunate ability to be able to ride to a few places close to home for an occasional ride.

Luckily (or unluckily) enough, yesterday I almost had my day ruined by a pickup truck as I was riding next to the road (my front tire was easily 8 inches right of the white line to allow plenty of room for traffic) and this a-hole’s passenger mirror brushed my left shirt sleeve as he didn’t even move an inch going around me.

I’m sure many of you have been there - but that’s it for me. No more roadside trips in my area until there’s an active transportation lane (already started - maybe next year for completion) to help ease the idea that pickup trucks don’t own the road and the ability to use 100 percent of it. Some people just don’t get it and won’t until there is a physical reason not to drive far too close to bikers.

My bike is being packed and brought to trails until that happens. This hobby ain’t worth some jerk not paying attention.

Drive safe out there.

LMR29r

This is why when I do commute anywhere I plan my route to take me down side streets and thought parks and walking trails unless there is active bike lanes.

This sucks because I try to see there point of view and I can stand back and say “you know what, the joker was at fault that time” but most of the time it’s not the biker. It’s the a hole who tries to squeeze there vehicle by.

Motorcyclist have a similar problem when it comes to respect from other vehicles and I just can’t understand it. When people don’t respect other forms of transportation it gets people killed end of story.

Sorry to hear about your incident, I’ve had my fair share of similar incidents over the last 25+ years of riding the roads here. Overall I feel that there are more respectful road users than not, but there will always be exceptions, some people are just more important than others (sarcasm).