Mid travel trail bike with coil?

Does anyone have any experience with mid travel trail bikes with coils? 130mm of travel roughly. The bike I am looking at will be 150/130 and I am thinking of putting a coil on the rear and I am curious as to how it will behave. The linkage is progressive and is comparable with coil and air. Wondering how the bikes handling will compare to a longer travel bike. Thanks everyone

1 Like

I have zero coil spring knowledge, but I just saw this and am guessing it could be helpful to you: https://youtu.be/lCT3LeDRKtM

Disclaimer: I didn’t watch the video and don’t plan to. Sorry if it didn’t give you the information you want!

2 Likes

#oncoil it’s a way of life dude

Just waiting for a heavier coil to complete the bike, then I can tell you how handles. I’m about 200lb with gear so I already have to replace the coil that came on it just to get the sag worked out .That part is a bit of a pain but there are a few on Pink Bike but and sell. The frame is a Knolly, the shock a CCDB coil IL.

1 Like

What’s the stroke length and leverage ratio for your bike? And travel. Do coils blow though their travel?

IThe stroke length is 50mm. Not sure of the ratio but I believe Knolly is on the low side. It’s travel is 130 out back and meant to be 150 forward. My Pike is 160. Gonna try it that way. I can’t say whether it will blow through its travel. I haven’t had a chance to really send it off anything. I just put on a 550lb coil and it feels pretty firm. I have the sag but I’m thinking I’ll need some time to really get it set and balanced with the fork. I haven’t read to many comments in forums about riders blowing through their travel.

Have you ridden your knolly with a air spring? How does it compare? The bike I am looking at is also 130mm of travel but slightly longer stroke. My concern was that with coils being linear that the 130mm would just be blown though.

No I haven’t tried the bike with air.