Newbie here! Is this a good deal?

Hi all, I’m currently bike-less and looking. I learned to mountain bike and biked for 1 season in BC on little mountains, and then went once at Keppoch last summer. I’m pretty new!

I have heard (and noticed) that the bike market is HOT right now and good bikes are pricey and hard to find. Here’s what I’m looking for:

• S or M frame (I’m 5’6/5’7 ish)
  • ideally 29" wheels but not a deal breaker
  • hardtail is OK but I learned on full sus, so if I can find full sus that would be sweet!
  • I will mainly be using it on local trails (XC) but also want to be able to take downhill occasionally

I found this and wondering if it would be a good deal to get for 1100 or 1200? (which is my max budget)

I’m so grateful to have found this community - any input will be much appreciated! :slightly_smiling_face:

2 Likes

The fuel is a great bike I have this years model.

They have changed the geometry of them in the last couple years to be more of a all mountain design with slacker head tube angle. Meaning the front wheel is further out front making it more capable of dh riding plus has more travel.

There’s others here who could better chime in about pricing but I’d say $1000 based on the age. The current one is $3500 before tax

That’s a good price but it is probably too small for you.

It really depends on the condition of the bike and how well it has been maintained. If it’s in good shape, then the price isn’t bad, especially with how much demand there is for bikes right now. That should be a great bike for most trails around NS including most of what Keppoch has to offer.

Things to consider for any used bike;
When (if ever) was the suspension serviced?
How are the frame bearings and/or bushings?
Do the brakes need to be bled?
How are the brake pads?
What’s the condition of the chain, cassette and chain ring(s)?
How are the gear cables?