There is a First Time for Everything

So Tuesday July 15th was my 25th wedding anniversary. I’m an incredibly lucky guy with an incredible wife and family that I love dearly, though that is for another discussion.

I’ve been riding now for about 15 years and love to get out as much as possible. I asked my wife what special thing we should do to celebrate our milestone anniversary and without missing a beat she said she would like to go for a ride. She hasn’t been on a bike in 25 years and I was flabbergasted that this was something she wanted to do. However, I thought it was an awesome idea. Monday night I spent a little time setting up a Kona hardtail I have hanging in the garage and got it it all ready for date night. On Tuesday night we headed for Shubie Park. She made it perfectly clear she didn’t want to ride “any roots, rocks or mud” (Hell what’s left?!?!?!?!) so I thought Shubie was as good a place as any to get a taste of wheels on dirt.

To make a long story short we had a great ride. She caught on very quickly to shifting and using the trail to create momentum and before long we were zipping along pretty well. I resisted every urge I had to “show-off” and did not speed away like I was on fire or jump over rocks or stuff like that. We stayed completely together and rode form Mic Mac to the end of Lake Charles and back. It was such a great ride!!!

So the first thing she says when we get back to the car was that she really enjoyed it and would like to get a bike and start riding somewhat regularly. She goes to the gym every day, and has been for years, but is looking for a little variety beyond the stair climber and treadmill.