Tires.....typical question

I know this has been asked here a million times but…

What is everyone running for tires? Places like Fight are hard on tires for sure. I am running Bontrager XR5 Team Issue TLR Tires. I like the feel of the tire and the traction is great. I understand all about the durometer vs longevity thing but I need to get more that 4 months out of a set of Tires. For years I ran Geax then Vittorio Gomas. I could get a year out of those and they also had great traction. Sadly, They are no longer available.

I need 29 x 2.4 tubeless. I ride all the same places you do, so what works for you?

I’ve been on Forkasters. In non 3 c. 1200 km and they have lots of life left in them which shocks me.

I have been running Schwalbe Magic Mary’s front and rear all season in 29x2.35. I’ve been running this tire upfront since 2013/2014 and I have used it mainly in the back with other tires like the nobby nic, hans dampf, and rock razor in the mix but none of them hold up as well and I always go back to the magic mary. Now in saying this and as much as I love the magic mary I just ordered a 29x2.5 Maxxis Assegai for the front and 29x 2.4 highroller for the rear. I’ve wanted to try the Assegai for a while now and was torn on rear tires so I went with the classic highroller.

If you loved the Geax and Vittoria perhaps check out the new Vittoria Agarro. It was just released and is intended to fill the hole btwn xc weight tires and enduro weight tires. I just mounted up a set of the 2.35" tnt a couple of weeks ago. Multi compound w graphene too. Just released so your dealer would need to order for you, prob not on their wall quite yet.

1 Like