Winter Riding Boots

I LOVE cold weather riding. I have all the layers and warm weather gear that I need. I am hardly ever cold except for my toes and balls of my feet. I ride in my regular SPD shoes that I use all year long with an extra insole and Gore Bike Wear Booties. The booties are torn to shit on the bottom and it’s time to replace them.

I know about Lake brand winter boots but find them pricey at $300+. Any other brands or ideas you like, that I should look at? I want to remain clipped in but want lots more warmth

If you know of anyone selling a used pair I could be up for that too.

While I don’t ride clipped, I keep the same footwear on all year long- 5.10 Freeriders, but in the winter I add some thermal socks I picked up at Mark’s Work Warehouse, not sure of the name but they have red flames on the sole… they’re amazing.

I’ve been using the Shimano MW81’s for 4 or 5 years now and they’re all I need for winter mtb use. For road riding they’re ‘ok’ but sometimes you need a cover on them. For strictly mtb they’re all I need. Retail for $269. For ‘the best’ look at Bontrager’s Old Man Winter Boot. These are by far the best winter boots I have ever seen and would probably consider these if I didn’t already have boots. But like I said, unless you have circulation problems, the Shimanos while also being the least expensive of all the winter boots I have seen, are also all you need. http://cyclesmith.ca/product/bontrager-omw-shoes-233185-1.htm

I know you want boots but I just used shoe covers over my normal SPD mtb shoes all last winter on both my mtb and my winter road bike. I rode outside at least once a week, with a lot of road riding where feet get colder than mtb. I wore 2 layers of socks (one thin and one thick wool). I put chemical foot warmers on top of my socks and never had a problem. They are key. Without the foot warmers my feet froze probably like yours do.