Newbie mountain biker

Hi everyone! I’m pretty new to Mountain biking and loving it. I’m looking for some beginner trails to go on with some people if you don’t mind me tagging along. There’s so much i don’t know and want to learn, but don’t want to get over my head. Lol
Let me know of anyone who wouldn’t mind showi g me around. Thx.

1 Like

Mec has a weekly group ride that will start in May. It’s geared towards beginners but good riders come out too.
I’m a beginner and ride with this group also and have had no issues.

3 Likes

Awesome. Great idea! Thx

Welcome to the site @Specializedjenn!

We do ECMTB rides on Tuesdays and often do Macdonald Sport, Shubie park or Nine Mile River as good beginner level rides.

Irishman’s road is good too.

2 Likes

I’ve been to irishman’s once and loved it! Thanks for the info. I will definitely come tag along on a tue ride. Thx.

1 Like

Also @chucsutt who does the above mentioned MEC rides, is also doing a Giant Halifax ride aimed at beginners looking to progress.

http://www.gianthalifax.ca/ca/events/beginner-mtb-ride/6320

3 Likes

And Bicycle Nova Scotia has the Women on Wheels program, for women mountain bikers only. @elleDEE might have some more info on that.

http://bicycle.ns.ca/women-on-wheels-wow/

3 Likes

Sportwheels does a group - rails to trails ride every Thursday all summer long, 7pm starts and alternates between Halifax and Dartmouth every week. They start first week in May. Check their website for locations and times.

2 Likes

Is that the one Ian runs?

I’m looking for something more than rails to trails. But thx for the info.

1 Like

@JeffV yeah that’s it

Definitely come out on a Tuesday sometimes. New riders always welcome!

1 Like