Best type of chain lube for NS? Suggestions

Looking for suggestions on the best type of chain lube for our NS conditions?
*Part protection
*Cost
*Availability
*Least amount of application
Cheers

I used wd40 bike chain lube there’s dry and wet and it’s been good I think I got it at Canadian tire so pretty easy to get

1 Like

Muc-Off!
I’ve had good luck with their wet lube. It’s $10-15 at Cyclesmith depending on the bottle size.
Plus it’s fun to say Muc-off :smiley:

1 Like

I have been using Finish Line Wet Lube for 20+ years

http://www.finishlineusa.com/products/chain-lubricants/wet-lube

I guess you could make the argument to switch to dry lube in dry conditions but I have never bothered

1 Like

Um . . . I use sunflower oil. Yup . . . sunflower oil and have been using it for years on all my fatties. I have no idea it it is good for dry or wet conditions. :slight_smile: I did switch to soy oil for a bit but I found that gunk would build up more quickly.

https://www.walmart.ca/en/ip/organic-high-oleic-sunflower-seed-oil/6000200900185

1 Like

Finish line ceramic wet and done. Year round no matter the conditions.

Finish Line green logo. Wet I think.

2 Likes

Muc off wet for wet and muc off dry for dry.

I use Pro gold Prolink chain lube on my trail and road bike.

I used Pedros Synlube for years, not sure if you can get it anymore. Ran Finish Line Dry last summer which I liked and I am using Pro Gold now and it seems good so far

What you use is less important than doing a good job of keeping your drivetrain relatively clean and having some type of lubricant on it.

For what it’s worth, I use the Finish Line wet lube most of the time, but switch over to Muc Off Dry Lube during the dry(ish) season.

4 Likes

Been running finish line wet since October… with the dirty conditions I completely clean rhe chain with degreaser weekly and reapply… come may I’ll switch to the dry lubricant

1 Like