Five Ten Flats

Since Adidas acquired Five Ten a couple years ago they’ve been phasing out their MTB specific shoes.

The only new shoe they’ve introduced is basically just a trail runner with their stealth rubber slapped onto it. Reviews indicate it’s not very stiff and materials not as durable, and therefore not so great for biking.

I’ve been wearing Five Ten Freerider Contacts for several years but they’re no longer avail.

Anyone have any experience with other brands?

4 Likes

Bought some of the specialized 2FOs in the summer and used them quite a bit. Similar sole to the freeriders but not as aggressive a tread so may be something to look at. Tried the 510 contacts but never really gelled with them.

2 Likes

I been loving the Giro RIDDANCE this year. Super stiff and somewhat light.

3 Likes

I also use 510 Freeriders and got a pair of TNT Ride Concepts for Christmas. I used them once so far and I despise them thus far. My feet slip and slide all over the place, especially when boosting a jump :pensive:

2 Likes

Sounds like a reason to switch to clipless :grinning:

3 Likes

I noticed that as well Derek. Yet at the DH World Champs this year a pile of the Five Ten Athletes had new versions of the Hell Cat shoe in a custom white colour.
I’m wondering if they are killing off Five Ten to bring it back as Adidas. No one makes a shoe that can compete in my opinion. I have many pairs of both flats and clips. Five Ten had the largest slice of the MTB shoe pie. They are also the only company who makes size 14/15 so if Adidas kills the brand entirely then a lot of large footed folks like myself are going to be out of luck.

2 Likes

Just be smaller, Andrew.

6 Likes

Adidas has owned Five Ten since 2011 but seemed to up their involvement in 2018.

I’m not sure what’s happening this year, I was looking for some Freerider Elements or EPS and couldn’t find any or any news about them.

They did release the District in 2020 which was a DJ show.

I’m trying!!

2 Likes