Gravel Grinders

Perhaps the mods can split this into a different topic, but I just picked up a gravel bike that came with Vittoria Terreno Dry tires in a 700x38, but I’m wondering what most of y’all with more experience gravel riding prefer? These seem like they’ll be fine for bike paths and commuting but I don’t know if they’re going to be good for more aggressive roads. I’m thinking of getting Maxxis Ramblers in 40c. Any thoughts?

Tubeless, obviously but what about inserts? Pressures? So much to learn!

3 Likes

@supercraig is my go to guy. He could have some insight for you. I’m new to the game. Haha

I’m running 40mm WTB Raddlers on my bike right now. They are a nice mix of chunky side lugs and a fast rolling center. They will be my last set of tan walled tires though, because I find sealant (and air pressure) weeps out of the sidewalls. I’ve got some 42mm Maxxis Ravagers and they’ll be going on next. I’m running Cushcore inserts front and rear. For pressure I’m between 30 and 26 psi on the rear, and 26-24 on the front depending on the conditions.

2 Likes

I’ve heard that about tan sidewalls. The Ravagers look interesting, but probably not as good a choice as the Ramblers for occasional commuting with only one wheel set. Guess I’ll need to pick up a second set of wheels for the ‘real’ tires.

2 Likes

Ramblers are a great all around gravel tire. I ran them from 2016 up until last year. I’ll be going back to them, but in a wider size next year.

1 Like

I’m running 650b-50mm Schwalbe G-One Ultrabite, 50-60 psi, tubeless, no inserts. Use them for commuting and gravel. No issues, no flats this year.

4 Likes