Trailforks - Unofficial trails

As noted in the Evil Birch discussion - many of the unofficial trails are disappearing on Trailforks. I don’t see the old IPA trail and pipeline track there either, for one. Who gets to decide that the unofficial trails get removed?

If I’m not mistaken @bent6543 is the regional TF admin. Perhaps he could explain?

3 Likes

Thanks. I’ve followed the controversy with Halifax Water on Spider, but I didn’t realize until now that so many of the local trails had disappeared too.

Halifax Water explicitly requested being de-listed I think.

1 Like

Yes I am a Trailforks Admin for Nova Scotia. I am happy to discuss your concerns. I will say that I consult with global Trailforks Admins and they are on board with what I do.

Evil Birch was removed shortly after security started turning away people on weekends, Honestly this trail should have never been put on the map as it requires trespassing on private property and an active mine site to get to and or illegally riding down a controlled access highway. The mine has taken extra steps to limit access by destroying the traditional entrance. As a mapping system that is globally available these kinds of trails should not be there and it was removed.

Spider Lake was removed by direct request from Halifax water because some tool on an ATV decided to cut a trail in a bog. I know it has nothing to do with MTB but being globally available mapping site means that all kinds of people can access the information. Halifax Water wanted to limit the public knowledge and I agreed therefore all trails on Halifax water were removed.